Professional Billiards Team League begins new season with a change to win-loss rules

Haiwon Resort Winners - Eswai Bazar joins new team

The new season of the professional billiards team league is about to begin.

The Professional Billiards Association (PBA) will kick off the first round of the Welcome Savings Bank PBA Team League 2023-2024 at the Kintex PBA Stadium in Gyeonggi-do, South Korea, on March 3, with five rounds and a postseason that will last about seven months.

One change this season is the addition of new teams. Hiwon Resort Winners and Eswai Bazar will join the league this season, bringing the total number of teams to nine.

As a result, players will be able to enjoy more matches per round, with nine days (36 matches) instead of seven days (28 matches).

There will also be some changes to the competition rules starting this season. The league standings will be based on points.

Winning teams will receive 3 points, while losing teams will receive 0 points. However, in full-set (7-set) matches, the winning team will receive 2 points and the losing team will receive 1 point.

The postseason format has also changed. Instead of a four-team playoff between the former and latter league champions and runners-up, the winners of each of the five rounds will advance to the postseason to crown a champion.

In the event of a tie, the second-place team in the regular season standings will advance to the postseason. The postseason bracket will be based on the overall regular season standings. The top-ranked team will not receive a head-to-head advantage, as was the case last season.

On the opening day, Blue One Resort and Welcome Savings Bank, who met in last season's postseason championship game, will kick off the action at 12:30 p.m., followed by Hana Card and upstart Eswai (3:30 p.m.), Huons and SK Rent-a-Car (6:30 p.m.), and Haiwon Resort and Crown Haetae (11 p.m.).
Report abuse