Regular Season MVP Pedi and Noh Si-hwan Compete, and Rookie of the Year Competition Between Moon Dong-ju and Yoon Young-cheol

Eric Peddy (NC Dinos), who dominated the mound, and Noh Si-hwan (Hanwha Eagles), who has established himself as a right-handed slugger representing the KBO League, will compete for the 2023 Korean Professional Baseball regular season Most Valuable Player (MVP) award.

On the 18th, the Korea Baseball Organization (KBO) revealed this year's regular season MVP and Rookie of the Year candidates.

There are a total of 16 MVP candidates selected by KBO.

Among them, Pedi and Noh Si-hwan stand out the most.

In this year's regular season, Peddie achieved the 'triple crown' by sweeping the categories of wins, average ERA, and strikeouts with 20 wins, 6 losses, an ERA of 2.00, and 209 strikeouts.

The triple crown in the pitcher category is a feat achieved by only four players in the 42-year history of Korean professional baseball, including Haitai Tigers' Sun Dong-yeol (1986, 1989, 1990, 1991), Hanwha Eagles' Ryu Hyun-jin (2006), KIA Tigers' Yoon Seok-min (2011), and Peddy. am.

Peddie is the 1983 Sammi Superstars' Jang Myeong-bu (30 wins, 220 strikeouts), the late Lotte Giants' late Choi Dong-won (27 wins, 223 strikeouts) in 1984, the Samsung Lions' Kim Si-jin (25 wins, 201 strikeouts) in 1986.

He also set a record of 20 wins and 200 strikeouts, something only legendary pitchers such as Haitai Sun Dong-yeol (24 wins, 214 strikeouts) achieved.

Noh Si-hwan, 22 years old, ranked first in home runs and RBIs, the symbol of a slugger, with 31 home runs and 101 RBIs.

In the KBO League, the batters who won the home run title before the age of 23 are Noh Si-hwan, following Doosan Bears manager Lee Seung-yeop, who held the record for the youngest home run title ever (1997) at the age of 21, and KBO talent donation committee member Jang Jong-hoon, who won the title in 1990 at the age of 22.

This is the third time in history.

Noh Si-hwan was also recorded as the second youngest hitter in KBO League history to hit 30 home runs and 100 RBIs at the age of 21 in 1997, following manager Lee Seung-yeop, who hit 32 home runs and 114 RBIs at the age of 21.

Among the batters, in addition to Noh Si-hwan, Son Ah-seop (NC) ranked 1st in batting average and most hits, Hong Chang-ki (LG Twins) ranked 1st in on-base percentage and runs scored, Jeong Choi (SSG Landers) ranked 1st in slugging percentage, stolen base king Soo-bin Jeong (Doosan), and Ja-wook Koo (Samsung) ranked 2nd in batting average and on-base percentage.

Lions, Austin Dean (LG), tied for 3rd in home runs, and Kim Hye-seong (Kiwoom Heroes), 2nd in hits and runs, were selected as MVP candidates.

Among MVP candidates, pitchers include title holders such as Peddie, 1st in saves Seo Jin-yong (SSG), 1st in holds, Park Young-hyun, 1st in winning percentage William Cuevas (KT Wiz), Ariel Jurado (Kiwoom), Raul Alcantara (Doosan), and David Buchanan (Samsung), Go Young-pyo (kt), and a total of 8 people.

Among the 10 candidates for Rookie of the Year, votes are focused on pitchers Dong-ju Moon (Hanwha Eagles) and Young-cheol Yoon (KIA Tigers).

Moon Dong-ju posted 8 wins, 8 losses, and an average ERA of 3.72 this year, and Yoon Young-cheol posted 8 wins, 7 losses, and an average ERA of 4.04.

Pitchers Choi Ji-min (KIA), Yoo Young-chan (LG), and Kim Dong-ju (Doosan) were also nominated for Rookie of the Year.

Among the hitters, Lee Joo-hyung, who took over the starting position after transferring from LG to Kiwoom, is attracting attention.

Joohyung Lee played in 69 games this year and posted a batting average of 0.326, 6 home runs, and 36 RBIs.

Batter Kim Dong-heon (Kiwoom), Kim Min-seok, Yoon Dong-hee (Lotte Giants), and Moon Hyun-bin (Hanwha) were also selected as Rookie of the Year candidates.

The regular season MVP and Rookie of the Year are selected by the votes of a total of 134 reporters from members of the Korea Baseball Writers Association and local media outlets.

Voting closes on the afternoon of the 19th, and the winners will be revealed at the KBO awards ceremony held after the postseason ends.
Report abuse